February 10, 2023

Six #NFLNoles Ready For Super Bowl

TALLAHASSEE – Six Seminoles will continue Florida State’s Super Bowl legacy Sunday at Super Bowl LVII inside State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

Defensive tackle Derrick Nnadi and defensive end Joshua Kaindoh are on the AFC champion Kansas City Chiefs, and they will face off against defensive end Josh Sweat, defensive end Janarius Robinson, defensive tackle Marvin Wilson and offensive tackle Roderick Johnson on the NFC champion Philadelphia Eagles. Both the Chiefs and Eagles finished the regular season 14-3 and earned the No. 1 seed in their respective conference.

  • Florida State’s five defensive linemen in Super Bowl LVII are the most at any position group from one school
  • FSU’s six total representatives in Super Bowl LVII is the second-highest total among all college programs
  • Super Bowl LVII is the third time at least six NFL Noles qualified for the same Super Bowl, tying Super Bowl XL and trailing only Super Bowl XXXVII’s nine FSU representatives for the program record
  • Florida State is one of eight college programs with multiple Super Bowl MVPs. Pro Football Hall of Famer Fred Biletnikoff was named MVP of Super Bowl XI after making four catches for 79 yards in Oakland’s 32-14 win over Minnesota. Dexter Jackson was the Super Bowl XXXVII MVP after grabbing two interceptions in Tampa Bay’s 48-21 win over Oakland
  • Nnadi is headed to the Super Bowl for the third time in his five-year NFL career, previously helping Kansas City win Super Bowl LIV and advance to Super Bowl LV
  • Nnadi’s three Super Bowl appearances are tied for second among all NFL Noles, trailing only J.T. Thomas’ four Super Bowl appearances with the Pittsburgh Steelers following the 1974, 1975, 1978 and 1979 seasons. The other Seminoles to make three Super Bowl appearances are Ken Lanier, who played in Super Bowl XXI, XXII and XXIV with the Denver Broncos, and Bryant McFadden, who played in Super Bowl XL, XLIII and XLV with the Steelers
  • Kaindoh, Sweat, Robinson, Wilson and Johnson are the 72nd, 73rd, 74th, 75th and 76th different former Florida State players to make the Super Bowl
  • Florida State alumni have collectively made 94 Super Bowl appearances
  • Florida State has been represented in 41 of the 57 Super Bowls
  • At least one Florida State athlete has advanced to 11 straight Super Bowls
  • Super Bowl LVII will be the seventh consecutive year at least one Seminole is on the winning team and 31st all-time. Entering this year’s Super Bowl, Florida State players have earned 47 Super Bowl rings

Super Bowl LVII begins at 6:30 p.m. on FOX.

Related Articles