June 23, 2022 - by

Braman, Cunningham and Watkins Jr. Take ACC Awards

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Three Seminoles took home ACC awards Thursday afternoon. Head Coach Bob Braman was named the ACC Men’s Coach of the Year. Trey Cunningham was named ACC Men’s Track Performer of the Year, and Sean Watkins Jr. was named ACC Co-Freshmen of the Year. The Noles led all teams with three winners.

Coach Braman picked up his 14th ACC coaching accolade across the cross country, indoor track and field and outdoor track and field seasons. Braman just completed his 19th season with the Seminoles and picked up his 32nd ACC title, the most among active coaches. Braman led the men to one of the most dominant performances in ACC Championship history this past season. The Noles scored 149 points and won by 56 points, the most since league expansion. The Noles also finished fourth at the NCAA Outdoor Championships, its highest finish since 2012.

Cunningham added another award to his resume. The Bowerman semifinalist became the first Nole to be named ACC Men’s Track Performer of the Year since Andre Ewers in 2019. Cunningham won the 110m hurdles national title and put together one of the greatest hurdle seasons in NCAA history. Cunningham ran 13.22 or faster nine times in his 10 races, the first athlete to accomplish that feat.

Watkins Jr. made a splash in his first season with the Seminoles. The Opa Locka, Fla., native, finished third in the 400m dash at the ACC Outdoor Championships and helped the 4x400m relay team to a second-place finish at the ACC Outdoor Championships and helped them qualify for the NCAA Outdoor Championships. Watkins Jr. became the ninth Seminole to win the award.

For updates and exclusive content, follow the Noles on Twitter (FSU_Track), Instagram (fsu_track) and Facebook (Florida State Track and Field).

Related Articles