July 13, 2022 - by

Cunningham Named National Indoor Track Scholar-Athlete of the Year; 19 Noles Earn USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors

NEW ORLEANS, La. – Trey Cunningham became the first Seminole to be named the USTFCCCA Indoor Track and Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year on Wednesday afternoon. 19 Florida State track and field athletes including Cunningham were named to the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team as well. 10 women and nine men were named to the team with four athletes accomplishing a 4.00 GPA for the spring semester.

“This is a huge honor for Trey. To be the first Nole to accomplish this award is very special. To be that great on the track as well in the classroom is something not many people can do,” Head Coach Bob Braman said. “I’m really proud of everyone who was named to the academic team. We have had great academic success in the past, and this year was no different.”

Cunningham boasted a 3.667 GPA in the spring semester in his pursuit of a Master’s degree in sport management. During the indoor season, Cunningham clocked the second-fastest time in NCAA history (7.37) on his way to a national title in the 60m hurdles. Cunningham picked up his fifth consecutive ACC title in the 60m hurdles. Cunningham was named the ACC Indoor and Outdoor Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

On the women’s side, three athletes recorded 4.0 GPA’s. CoSIDA Academic All-Americans Maudie Skyring and Ruby Stauber were each named to the list. Stauber is getting her masters in sport management while Skyring is pursuing her degree in exercise physiology. Alyson Churchill also had a 4.0 during the spring as she pursues her degrees in psychology and international affairs. Three more Seminoles, Amanda Beach, Ka’Tia Seymour and Sara Zabarino, each earned a 3.9 GPA or higher. Among the 10 athletes who were named to the team, eight of them earned a 3.7 GPA or higher.

On the men’s side, Matt Owens led the way with a perfect 4.0 GPA. Owens is pursuing his degree in public health. Owens qualified for the NCAA East Preliminary in the 3000m steeplechase. Silas Griffith had the second-best GPA among the group with a GPA of 3.938 in his pursuit of a degree in social work. The ACC indoor and outdoor scholar-athlete of the year, Trey Cunningham and Caleb Pottorff each finished the semester with a 3.667 GPA. Cunningham is pursuing his masters in Sport Management.

The criteria for USTFCCCA All-Academic is listed below.

  1. Cumulative GPA: 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale, including the most recent grading period, certifiable by either NCAA Faculty Rep or NCAA Compliance Coordinator or Registrar’s Office. Institutions utilizing a different GPA scale must convert the GPA to a 4.0 scale using the standard conversion method [GPA/Scale x 4.0].
  2. Athletic criteria for the award can be met in either the indoor season, the outdoor season, or both:
    • For the indoor season: must have finished the season ranked in the top 96 in any championship individual event, or in the top 48 in any championship relay event, for the most recent indoor season, certifiable by their place on final season performance lists on TFRRS for Indoor Track and Field (including performances achieved outside the qualifying window during the indoor season).
    • For the outdoor season: must have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships (the Preliminary Championship Competition and/or the Final Championship Competition) or must have finished the outdoor season ranked in the top 48 in the East or top 48 in the West for the most recent outdoor season, certifiable by their place on the NCAA Division I descending order lists on TFRRS for Outdoor Track and Field.
  3. Must have completed at least two (2) semesters or three (3) quarters at the certifying institution.

For updates and exclusive content, follow the Noles on Twitter (FSU_Track), Instagram (fsu_track) and Facebook (Florida State Track and Field).


Trey Cunningham (Sport Management)

Samuel Field (Sport Management)

Silas Griffith (Social Work)

Ahmed Muhumed (International Affairs)

Riley Ott (Sport Management)

Matt Owens (Public Health)

Caleb Pottorff (Exercise Physiology)

James Rivera (Interdisciplinary Social Science)

Adriaan Wildschutt (Business Administration)


Amanda Beach (Public Health)

Alyson Churchill (Psychology and International Affairs)

Rebecca Clark (Exercise Physiology)

Jen Lima (Exercise Physiology)

Kelechi Nwanaga (Economics)

Erin Phelps (Exercise Physiology)

Ka’Tia Seymour (Athletic Coaching)

Maudie Skyring (Exercise Physiology)

Ruby Stauber (Sport Management)

Sara Zabarino (Food and Nutrition Science)

Related Articles