February 24, 2023

Four Noles Recognized as ACC Postgraduate Scholars

Four Noles Recognized as ACC Postgraduate Scholars

GREENSBORO, N.C.  –Florida State student-athletes Maddie Anderson, Nick Mason, and Kaley Mudge were named by the Atlantic Coast Conference as 2023 Weaver-James-Corrigan-Swofford Postgraduate Scholar Award recipients. Vic Allen was selected as an honorary scholarship nominee.

Anderson (beach volleyball), Mason (men’s swimming and diving), Mudge (softball), and Allen (women’s tennis) were chosen based on performance in the classroom and in their respective sport while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

Four Noles Recognized as ACC Postgraduate Scholars

Vic Allen | Women’s Tennis |Ashbourne, U.K. | Sport Management

Allen was an ITA Doubles All-American in 2020 and has been a part of two NCAA tournament teams, one of which advanced to the Elite Eight in 2021. She was 18th in school history for doubles win percentage of .759 (22-7) during the 2019-2020 season. Allen earned the Golden Nole and Golden Torch for women’s tennis in 2022. She is a three-time ACC Honor Roll honoree, three-time Dean’s List honoree, and a two-time President’s List honoree.

Four Noles Recognized as ACC Postgraduate Scholars

Maddie Anderson | Beach Volleyball | Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. | Finance

In the midst of her fourth season at Florida State, Anderson boasts a 75-19 career record.  In 2022, she was named to the CCSA All-Tournament Team, AVCA All-American Team, and was the collegebeachvb.com Breakthrough Player of the Year after finishing her redshirt sophomore campaign with 14 wins against top-10 ranked opponents. In 2021, Anderson was named part of the CCSA All-Freshman team and was a Volleyball Magazine Second Team All-American. Anderson is tied for fourth all-time at Florida State for career wins on court one with 30.

Four Noles Recognized as ACC Postgraduate Scholars

Nick Mason | Men’s Swimming and Diving | St. Charles, Ill.| Psychology

Mason holds the FSU record in the 400 IM at 3:45.50, a mark he set at the Georgia Invite in 2020. He is a 2021 NCAA qualifier and 2020 U.S. Olympic Trials qualifier. Over his four-year career, Mason scored in four events at the ACC Championships. Mason also holds the Morcom Aquatics Center pool record in the 400 IM at 3:52.65. Mason was a CSCAA Scholar All-American in 2021, second team in 2020 and 2022, and has made the ACC Academic Honor Roll three times.  Mason is the sixth student-athlete chosen for the award from the FSU swimming and diving team.


Four Noles Recognized as ACC Postgraduate Scholars

Kaley Mudge | Softball | Winter Springs, Fla.  | Exercise Physiology

Mudge has been a staple for the Seminoles for the past few years. Mudge holds the Women’s College World Series record for hits (14) which she set in 2021 to help the Seminoles reach the national championship game. Mudge also became the first athlete in WCWS history to record five hits in a seven-inning game and earned her a spot on the 2021 WCWS All-Tournament Team. Mudge was also named to the All-ACC First Team and NFCA Southeast All-Region Second Team in 2022 and was named to the Preseason All-ACC Team prior to the 2023 season. She was also named to the All-ACC Academic Team in 2022.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan-Swofford and Jim and Pat Thacker postgraduate scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $6,000 toward his or her graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and their respective sport, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

The ACC has selected postgraduate scholarship recipients annually since 1971.  Over that time, the league has provided nearly $4.7 million to more than 1,000 ACC student-athletes.

The 2023 winners will be highlighted on a one-hour show that will air on the ACC Network that will air in May.

Related Articles