December 2, 2018 - by
Mann Named As Candidate For Senior CLASS Award

Terance Mann Bio / Florida State Statistics / A Leader Among Seminole Leaders /

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Terance Mann, who leads No. 14 Florida State in both scoring and rebounding entering Monday’s game against Troy at the Donald L. Tucker Center, has been named as one of 30 national candidates for the 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award. He is one of only two candidates for the award from the Atlantic Coast Conference and the only candidate from a school in the state of Florida.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.  CLASS is an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School.

Mann will graduate from Florida State in four years with a degree in Social Science. Because of his academic success as a sophomore, the Seminoles were named as one of the Academic Teams of Excellence by the NABC for the 2016-17 season. He helped the men’s basketball team win a prestigious Golden Torch Award at Florida State in 2017 for having the highest GPA among all men’s athletics teams at Florida State. The men’s basketball team was honored for its overall team GPA of 3.034 during the 2016-17 academic year, marking the first time they have earned the award in the 27-year history of the unique award. The Seminoles’ team grade-point from that year average ranks as the highest during Head Coach Leonard Hamilton’s 17-year tenure at Florida State.

Mann is a member of numerous campus activities at Florida State including the Student Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC). He earned the Seminoles’ Mr. Hustle Awards at the Seminoles annual banquets in 2016 and 2017. Mann earned an ACC Top Six Award at Florida State’s Annual Golden Nole banquet in 2018. The award goes to six student-athletes from each ACC school who have gone above and beyond in serving their communities. He was named as a nominee for the 2018 NABC Give Back Team which recognizes players around the country for their community service efforts.

Mann is the community leader for the Seminoles. He has spearheaded the Seminoles partnership with the Early Learning Coalition of the Big Bend in Coaching for Literacy, a program designed to raise awareness about illiteracy in America and to raise funds to provide financial support for effective local literacy programs.   Mann has been recognized as a key service leader in Florida State’s LYFE program, where he received the “Mr. Outreach Award” as a freshman. He also enjoys his role as a student-athlete mentor for Florida State’s freshmen.

Mann earned All-ACC Honorable Mention honors, was named to the 2018 NCAA West Regional All-Tournament Team and to the 2017 Jamaica Classic All-Tournament Team as a junior as he enjoyed his best season as a Seminole. He has been a member of three postseason teams as he led Florida State to the NCAA Tournament in 2017 and 2018 and to the second round of the NIT in 2016. Mann has played in eight postseason games in the first three years of his career (six NCAA Tournament games and two in the NIT). He led the Seminoles to the Elite Eight of the NCAA Tournament in 2018 and to the second round of the NCAA Tournament in 2017.

The candidate list will be narrowed to a field of 10 finalists in February, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four C’s of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2019 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four® this spring. For more information on each of the candidates, visit

Men’s Basketball Candidates
Terance Mann, Florida State University
Zach Braxton, Weber State
Devontae Cacok, UNC Wilmington
Isaac Copeland, Nebraska
Clayton Custer, Loyola Chicago
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
Jon Elmore, Marshall
Frankie Ferrari, San Francisco
Jaire Grayer, George Mason
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin
Aric Holman, Mississippi State
Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye, Bradley
Kimbal Mackenzie, Bucknell
Luke Maye, North Carolina
Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky
Juwan Morgan, Indiana
Matt Morgan, Cornell
Trey Moses, Ball State
Zane Najdawi, The Citadel
Michael Nezi, Seton Hall
Josh Perkins, Gonzaga
Trey Phills, Yale
Paul Rowley, William & Mary
Tyler Seibring, Elon
TJ Shorts II, UC Davis
Chris Silva, South Carolina
Lance Tejada, Lehigh
Reid Travis, Kentucky
Dylan Windler, Belmont
Dustin Wright-Foreman, Hofstra

Related Articles