January 27, 2021 - by
No. 15 Noles Finish 2020-21 Undefeated

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The No.15/21 Florida State swimming teams defeated the University of North Florida and the University of Tampa on Wednesday afternoon at the Morcom Aquatics Center.

The No. 15 men took the victory over the Spartans, 207-55, to finish 2020-21 undefeated (6-0, 1-0 ACC). It’s the seventh time in program history and first since 1997 the Noles finished the regular season unbeaten.

“We had a really great day. Some awesome swims and some exciting things to look forward to for ACC’s,” FSU head coach Neal Studd said. “Incredibly proud that the men finished up an undefeated season.”

The No. 21 women took home two wins, beating Tampa, 167-81, and UNF, 182-66 to close the year out at 4-2-1, 0-1 ACC.

The women won 12 of the 14 total events, starting off with a win on the 200 medley relay behind sophomore Tania Quaglieri, junior Madison Blakesley, freshman Jenny Halden, and senior Rebecca Moynihan with a time of 1:45.75.

Freshman Phoebe Griffiths (10:16.14) was the winner in the 1000 free, while Quaglieri (1:49.47), freshman Ashley Zettle (1:50.69), and sophomore Elizabeth Harris (1:53.04) followed with a sweep in the 200 free.

Freshman Jaden Herbet (55.47), freshman Pia Murray (55.78), and senior Madeline Cohen (56.82) swept the 100 back, followed by another sweep by Moynihan (23.19), freshman Zsofia Kurdi (23.21), and senior Emma Terebo (23.38) in the 50 free.

After the break, the Noles put together another sweep from Kurdi (50.15), Terebo (50.50), and Moynihan (51.06) in the 100 free. Murray placed first in the 200 back with a time of 1:58.49, followed by freshman Natalie Peterson (2:04.23) finishing in third place.

Kile Carriger (2:17.69) was the winner in the 200 breast, while Molino (4:54.75), Griffiths (4:56.25), and Zettle (4:59.56) once again swept the 500 free.

In the 100 fly, the Seminoles were led by Halden (53.92), followed by Herbet (55.21) in second and Murray (56.23) in third.

After the final break, FSU swept the 200 IM lead by Molino (2:06.26), who picked up her second individual win on the day. Sophomore Sydney VanOvermeiren (2:07.61), and Carriger (2:07.94) followed behind Molino taking second and third place.

The Seminoles finished the meet with a team win in the 200 free relay behind Moynihan, Kurdi, Terebo, and Halden with a time of 1:31.99.

No. 15 Noles Finish 2020-21 Undefeated

Freshman Joshua Davidson

The men won 13 of the 14 total events, led by freshman Mason Herbet, who won all three of his individual races. Freshman Conner Lowery also had a stellar day for the Noles with two victories of his own.

Herbet and juniors Izaak Bastian and Max McCusker, along with sophomore Peter Varjasi, started the day with a first place in the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:28.96.

Freshman Yordan Yanchev made his season debut in today’s meet and won the 1000 free (9:33.75), followed by sophomore Cameron Taddonio (9:41.44) in second.

Freshman Will Hoogenboom (1:39.35), junior Jackson Lucas (1:39.46), and freshman David Quirie (1:39.57) put together the first sweep of the day in the 200 free, while Lowery (48.92) and sophomore Noah Young (49.77) finished first and third place in the 100 back.

Herbet picked up a victory in the 100 breast, touching with a time of 55.34, followed by senior Paxton Rhoads (55.73) in second and sophomore Nevada Wood (56.32) in third.

Freshman Rush Clark (1:49.02) was the winner in the 200 fly, junior Santi Corredor (1:50.67) was the runner-up, and freshman Tommy Eaton (1:52.23) placed third.

Junior Jakub Ksiazek (20.30), McCusker (20.73), and sophomore Domen Demsar (20.78) swept the 50 free and after the break, Herbet (44.67), sophomore Quinn Scholz (45.21), and Ksiazek (45.42) came back and finished first, second, and third place in the 100 free.

Lowery claimed his second win of the day in the 200 back (1:46.59) ahead of Lucas (1:48.22) and freshman Elvis Kotikovski (1:48.52).

Wood (2:02.52) and Rhoads (2:04.43) added a one-two finish in the 200 breast, followed by a sweep of the 500 free, led by Corredor (4:28.46), Yanchev (4:34.38), and sophomore Aziz Ghaffari (4:38.19).

Herbet won his third individual race of the day in the 200 IM (1:49.81), while sophomore Nick Vance touched closely behind in second (1:49.88), and Corredor (1:51.58) was third.

FSU finished the meet with a victory in the 200 free relay, with sophomore Blake Moran, McCusker, Ksiazek, and Varjasi putting together a time of 1:22.01.

The divers will compete against Miami and Georgia Tech in Atlanta on Saturday before the Seminoles head to Greensboro, N.C. for the ACC Championship meets next month. The women’s team and diving will run from Feb. 17-20, while the men’s team will swim from Feb. 24-27.

For more information, visit Facebook (FSUSwimmingDiving), Twitter (@FSU_Swimming) and Instagram (@fsuswimdive).



Related Articles