December 2, 2021 - by
Noles Begin Indoor Season at Clemson

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State track and field team will head to Clemson, S.C., on Friday for the Clemson Opener. Friday’s meet will be the earliest start of the season since the 2018-19 season when they began the year on Dec. 1 at the Colyear-Danville BU Opener in Boston, Mass. Field events will begin at 10 a.m. with running events slated to start at 11:40 a.m.

Friday’s 17-team field will be highlighted by FSU and their in-state rival Florida as the top two teams in the field. The Noles will also be joined by ACC counterparts Clemson and Georgia Tech along with SEC participant South Carolina.

Lauren Ryan will be competing in the 5000m race at the Sharon Colyear-Danville Season Opener on Saturday in Boston. Ryan will run at 4:40 p.m. and can be seen live at FloTrack.

“We’re super excited to get back to competing again,” Head Coach Bob Braman said. “We scheduled this early meet to give the athletes an incentive for their fall training. They’ve prepared really well, and we may have a couple of national qualifying performances on Friday.”

Previewing the Noles

FSU enters the 2021-22 season with a load of experience, as they return a combined 18 (11 men, 7 women) All-ACC indoor athletes from last season. which is second in the conference. The women will look to defend their ACC title, as the men hope to take home their 15th ACC indoor title. Head coach Bob Braman enters his 18th season at the helm with 14 combined ACC Indoor Championships. That mark puts him second all time in ACC head coaches and first among active ACC coaches.

The men return a total of 12 athletes who earned All-America honors during the indoor or outdoor season. Isaac Grimes led the men at the 2021 NCAA Indoor Championships with a second-place finish in the long jump after an FSU record jump of 8.35m. Trey Cunningham has solidified himself as one of the top hurdlers in the nation and holds the FSU record in the 60m hurdles with a time of 7.51. Cunningham finished third at last years NCAA Championship. In his first year at FSU, Adriaan Wildschutt has become one of the top distance runners in school history. Wildschutt broke the school record last year in the 5000m with a time of 13:30.55 to finish fourth at the NCAA Championships. In the sprints, the Noles have great depth with Taylor Banks, DaeQwan Butler, Alex Collier, Damarre Martin, Jovaughn Martin, and Don’drea Swint all returning from All-American seasons.

On the women’s side, the Noles have good balance with plenty of scoring opportunities in the field and on the track. Yasmine Abbes, Alyson Churchill, Ediong Odiong, and Maudie Skyring return after a record-breaking DMR time at last year’s NCAA Indoor Championships. Ka’Tia Seymour returns as an All-American in the sprints for the Noles. The Noles added two key transfers in Deandreah Young and Ruby Stauber. Young comes from South Carolina and was an All-American in the 400m hurdles last season. Stauber makes her fourth stop at a Power Five school and will be a key part in the middle distance races. Stauber was the SEC Outdoor Freshman of the year in 2017 with LSU and became a second team All-American in the 800m at LSU and Oregon. In the field, the Noles should once again be strong in the throws under new assistant coach Doug Reynolds. Caisa-Marie Lindfors, Sara Zabarino and Kelechi Nwanaga all return from All-American seasons. Alonie Sutton will return as the lone jumper on the women’s side after an All-American season.

Quick Notes

  • Dec. 3 will be the earliest start of the season for the Noles since the 2018-19 season when they began the year at the Colyear-Danville BU Opener in Boston, Mass, on Dec. 1, 2018.
  • The Clemson Opener will be the first of three trips to Clemson for the Noles this season. The Noles will travel back to Clemson on Jan. 14-15 for the Clemson Invite and on Jan. 28-29 for the Bob Pollock Meet. 
  • Head Coach Bob Braman enters his 18th year as the head coach of the Florida State track and field team.
  • Braman has won 14 (10 men’s, 4 women’s) outright ACC Indoor Championships. Braman’s 14 combined championships puts him second all time in the ACC and first among active ACC coaches. 
  • Braman brings in three new assistant coaches in Alex Midgett (Distance), Doug Reynolds (Throws) and Leevan Sands (Jumps). 
  • The men finished 6th in last year’s final USTFCCCA poll while the women finished 16th.
  • The women won the 2020 ACC Indoor Championship for the first time since 2018.
  • The men and women swept the ACC Outdoor Championships for the first time since 2014.
  • The men finished 6th and the women 16th at the 2021 NCAA Indoor Championships. 
  • The Noles return 18 All-ACC athletes which is the second most in the ACC. 
  • The Noles return 11 qualifying athletes from last year’s NCAA Indoor Championships.
  • Isaac Grimes (Long Jump) won silver at last year’s NCAA Indoor Championships while Trey Cunningham (60m Hurdles) won bronze. 
  • The women return seven indoor All-ACC athletes while the men return 11 All-ACC individuals.
  • The Noles won nine ACC weekly awards during last year’s indoor season.
  • The Noles have a load of experience with the men’s team having 19 seniors and the women’s team having 24 seniors. 
  • Adriaan Wildschutt (3000m), Trey Cunningham (60m hurdles) and Isaac Grimes (Long jump) are the lone returning ACC Indoor Champions.
  • Cunningham was one of 10 athletes on the Bowerman List heading into last year’s NCAA Indoor Championship.
  • Isaac Grimes was named the 2021 Indoor ACC Men’s Field Athlete of the Year. 
  • Cunningham (60m hurdles) is one of four athletes in the history of Florida State to win four consecutive ACC indoor titles in a single event. Rafeeq Curry (2003-06), Kimberly Williams (2008-11) and Lacy Janson (2002-05) are the other three. Cunningham received an extra year of eligibility due to COVID-19 and can become the first FSU athlete to win five consecutive ACC indoor titles in a single event. 
  • There are four athletes and one relay team that hold indoor school records. Adriaan Wildschutt (5,000m, 13:30.55), Trey Cunningham (60m hurdles, 7.51), Isaac Grimes (Long Jump, 8.35m), Ka’Tia Seymour (200m, 22.82), and the Distance Medley Relay team of Alyson Churchill, Ediong Odiong, Yasmine Abbes and Maudie Skyring (10.57.24).

The Field (Last Year NCAA Indoor Finish)

Anderson University (N/A)

Clayton State (N/A)

Clemson (M: 53, W: 24)

Florida (M: 4, W: 6)

Florida A&M (N/A)

Florida State (M: 6, W: 16)

Furman (M: 59 W: N/A)

Georgia Tech (N/A)

Georgia State (N/A)

Kennesaw State (M: N/A, W: 52)

Life University (N/A)

Limestone (N/A)

Southeastern (N/A)

South Carolina (M: 46, W: 20)

South Carolina State (N/A)

Southern Wesleyan (N/A)

Western Carolina (N/A)

Related Articles