February 22, 2022 - by

Noles Gear Up for ACC Indoor Championships

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State track and field team will head to Blacksburg, Va., for the 2021 ACC Indoor Track and Field Championships. Events will begin on Thursday and conclude on Saturday at the Rector Field House on the campus Virginia Tech. Friday’s and Saturday’s action will be streamed on ACCNX.

Quick Sprints

  • The Noles enter the 2022 ACC Indoor Track and Field Championships as the defending champions on the women’s side.
  • The Noles have won 17 (13 men’s, 4 women’s) ACC Indoor Championships.
  • Head Coach Bob Braman is in his 18th year as the head coach of the Florida State track and field team
  • Braman leads all active ACC coaches with 15 ACC Indoor Championships.
  • Braman brought in three new assistant coaches in Alex Midgett (Distance), Doug Reynolds (Throws) and Leevan Sands (Jumps).
  • The Noles have a load of experience with the men’s team having 19 seniors and the women’s team having 24 seniors.
  • Adriaan Wildschutt (3000m), Trey Cunningham (60m hurdles) and Isaac Grimes (Long jump) are the lone returning ACC Indoor Champions.
  • The Noles returned 18 All-ACC athletes which is the second-most in the ACC.
  • The Noles returned 11 qualifying athletes from last year’s NCAA Indoor Championships.
  • The men come into this weekend ranked 13th by the USTFCCCA.
  • Monday marked the 30th-straight week that the FSU men have been ranked inside the top 25 of the USTFCCCA rankings.
  • Trey Cunningham (60m hurdles), Don’drea Swint (60m dash), Adriaan Wildschutt (5000m run) and Lauren Ryan (3000m run) each lead the ACC in their respective events.
  • Cunningham, Wildschutt and Ryan lead the NCAA in their respective events.
    Florida State is the only program to have three different individuals lead the NCAA in an event.
  • Trey Cunningham broke the school record, the ACC record and ran the third-fastest time (7.42) in collegiate history at the Tyson Invitational.
  • Cunningham remained on The Bowerman Watch List on Feb. 3. Cunningham is the first Nole to appear on The Bowerman Watch List in three straight seasons (2020-22).
  • Cunningham (60m hurdles) is one of four athletes in the history of Florida State to win four consecutive ACC indoor titles in a single event. Rafeeq Curry (2003-06), Kimberly Williams (2008-11) and Lacy Janson (2002-05) are the other three. Cunningham received an extra year of eligibility due to COVID-19 and can become the first FSU athlete to win five consecutive ACC indoor titles in a single event.
  • Adriaan Wildschutt broke the school record in the 3000m at the Bob Pollock Meet (7:52.80). and broke his own school record in the 5000m run at the David Hemery Valentine Invite (13:09.88). Wildschutt’s 5000m time is the second-fastest time in NCAA history, and he also broke the South African record in the event.
  • Ahmed Muhumed holds the second-fastest time in the 5000m run right behind Wildschutt (13:26.40). Muhumed and Wildschutt are one of two duos in FSU indoor history to clock in the No. 1 and No. 2 times in a singular event in the same season. Jake Burton and Otniel Teixeria hold the No. 1 and No. 2 times in FSU history in the 800m run which they both set in 2016.
  • Ryan broke the school and ACC record in the 3000m run at the David Hemery Valentine Invite with a time of 8:47.88. Her time is the fourth-fastest time in NCAA history, the time also met the Australian standard for the World Indoor Championships.
  • The Noles have had seven athletes tally FSU top 10 performances so far this season: Lauren Ryan (3000m run, 5000m run, Mile), Trey Cunningham (60m hurdles) Don’drea Swint (60m Dash), Edidiong Odiong (200m Dash), Ruby Stauber (800m Run), Jacore Irving (Triple Jump) and Megan Cook (Weight Throw).
  • There are five athletes and one relay team that hold indoor school records: Adriaan Wildschutt (5000m, 13:09.30; 3000m, 7:52.80), Trey Cunningham (60m hurdles, 7.42), Isaac Grimes (Long Jump, 8.35m), Lauren Ryan (3000m, 8:47.88; 5000m, 15:40.40), Ka’Tia Seymour (200m, 22.82), and the Distance Medley Relay team of Alyson Churchill, Ediong Odiong, Yasmine Abbes and Maudie Skyring (10.57.24).

The Best of the Best

Trey Cunningham, Adriaan Wildschutt and Lauren Ryan each had record-breaking weekends the last time the Noles were in action. Cunningham (60m hurdles), Wildschutt (5000m run) and Ryan (3000m run) each lead the nation in their respective events.

Cunningham continued his stellar season, breaking his own school record and ACC record in the 60m hurdles (7.41) at the Tyson Invitational. Cunningham’s time was the third-fastest time in NCAA history.

Wildschutt broke his second school record of the season at the David Hemery Valentine Invite in Boston, Mass. Wildschutt ran the second-fast time in NCAA history in the 5000m run and bested many professionals and Olympians. Wildschutt ran a personal best 13:09.30. Wildschutt also holds the school record in the 3000m run (7:52.8) at the Bob Pollock Meet.

Ryan had a phenomenal performance at the David Hemery Valentine Invite in Boston as well, as she broke the school record and the ACC record in the 3000m run by clocking in at 8:47.88. Ryan also holds the school record in the 5000m run (15:40.40) which she also set in Boston at the Sharon-Colyear Season Opener on Dec. 4.

Sketching Names into History

The Noles have put together a remarkable season on the track in the 2021-22 indoor season. The Noles have broken five school records and three ACC records. Entering this season, there was not an athlete to have more than one indoor school record to their name. The Noles have two athletes, Lauren Ryan and Adriaan Wildschutt, who each hold school records in two different events.


For updates and exclusive content, follow the Noles on Twitter (FSU_Track), Instagram (fsu_track) and Facebook (Florida State Track and Field).

Related Articles