February 10, 2022 - by

Noles Prepare for Tough Competition at Arkansas and Boston

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – With the ACC Indoor Track and Field Championships just two weeks away, the Florida State track and field team will take the stage with some of the best teams in the country this weekend at the Tyson Invitational in Fayetteville, Ark., and the David Hemery Valentine Invite in Boston, Mass. The Tyson Invitational features 18 combined men’s and women’s teams that were ranked inside the top 25 of the weekly USTFCCCA national ranking index. The Tyson Invite will be streamed live on SECN+ while the David Hemery Valentine Invite will be streamed on FloTrack.

Tyson Invitational Field

Academy of Art, Alabama, Arizona State, Arkansas, Barton County CC, Drake, Duke, Florida, Florida State, Iowa, Kansas State, LSU, Minnesota, Missouri, North Carolina A&T, North Carolina State, Nebraska, Oklahoma City, Ole Miss, Princeton, Tennessee

Quick Sprints

» The Noles are a part of a stacked field at the Tyson Invitational. The Noles will be joined by 14 other power five teams.
» There will be 18 top 25 teams at the Tyson Invitational
» Lauren Ryan, Maudie Skyring, Alyson Churchill, Ahmed Muhumed and Adriaan Wildschutt will each be competing at the David Hemery Valentine Invite in Boston.
» Head Coach Bob Braman enters his 18th year as the head coach of the Florida State track and field team.
» Braman has won 15 (11 men’s, 4 women’s) outright ACC Indoor Championships. Braman’s 15 combined championships puts him second all time in the ACC and first among active ACC coaches.
» Braman brings in three new assistant coaches in Alex Midgett (Distance), Doug Reynolds (Throws) and Leevan Sands (Jumps).
» The Noles have a load of experience with the men’s team having 19 seniors and the women’s team having 24 seniors.
» The men come into this weekend ranked 20th by the USTFCCCA.
» Monday marked the 28th-straight week that the FSU men have been ranked inside the top 25 of the USTFCCCA rankings.
» Trey Cunningham broke the school record, the ACC record and ran the fourth-fastest time (7.46) in collegiate history at the Texas Tech Open.
» Cunningham remained on The Bowerman Watch List last week. Cunningham is the first Nole to appear on The Bowerman Watch List in three straight seasons (2020-22).
» Adriaan Wildschutt broke the school record in the 3000m at the Bob Pollock Meet (7:52.80). Wildschutt also holds the school record in the 5000m run (13:30.55).
» Isaac Grimes will make his season debut in Fayetteville after suffering an injury earlier this season.
» Grimes received votes to The Bowerman Preseason Watch List.
» Grimes finished second in the long jump at both the national indoor and outdoor meets.
» The women won the 2021 ACC Indoor Championship for the first time since 2018.
» The Noles return 18 All-ACC athletes which is the second-most in the ACC.
» The Noles return 11 qualifying athletes from last year’s NCAA Indoor Championships.
» The Noles have had seven athletes tally FSU top 10 performances so far this season: Lauren Ryan (5000m run, Mile), Don’drea Swint (60m Dash), Edidiong Odiong (200m Dash), Ruby Stauber (800m Run), Jacore Irving (Triple Jump) and Megan Cook (Weight Throw).
» Cunningham (60m Hurdles), Odiong (200m) and Swint (60m) each hold top five times in the NCAA.
» Cunningham (60m hurdles) is one of four athletes in the history of Florida State to win four consecutive ACC indoor titles in a single event. Rafeeq Curry (2003-06), Kimberly Williams (2008-11) and Lacy Janson
(2002-05) are the other three. Cunningham received an extra year of eligibility due to COVID-19 and can become the first FSU athlete to win five consecutive ACC indoor titles in a single event.
» There are five athletes and one relay team that hold indoor school records: Adriaan Wildschutt (5,000m, 13:30.55; 3000m, 7:52.80), Trey Cunningham (60m hurdles, 7.46), Isaac Grimes (Long Jump, 8.35m), Lauren Ryan (5000m, 15:40.40), Ka’Tia Seymour (200m, 22.82), and the Distance Medley Relay team of Alyson Churchill, Ediong Odiong, Yasmine Abbes and Maudie Skyring (10.57.24).
» The women return seven indoor All-ACC athletes while the men return 11 All-ACC individuals.
» Adriaan Wildschutt (3000m), Trey Cunningham (60m hurdles) and Isaac Grimes (Long jump) are the lone returning ACC Indoor Champions.

Last Time Out

Trey Cunningham showed once again why he is the top hurdler in the nation on Friday night. Cunningham clocked in a 7.49 in the 60m hurdles that broke his own FSU, ACC and facility record in the preliminaries. Cunningham wasn’t going to stop there, as he cruised to the fourth-fastest time in NCAA history in the semifinals with a 7.46.

The mile run was the highlight of the day for the Noles in Clemson, as they took four out of the top five spots in the event. Maudie Skyring (4:36.75) took first in her first race of the season, just edging teammate Lauren Ryan (4:36.76). Alyson Churchill finished third with a time of 4:37.41 while Jen Lima finished fifth with a time of 4:48.10. Skyring, Ryan and Churchill hold the fifth, sixth and seventh-best times in the NCAA this season and each ran top 10 times in FSU history.

Adriaan Wildschutt broke the school record in the 3000m run with a time of
7:52.80 breaking the previous record of 7:53.97 held by Luke Gunn in 2008.
Right behind Wildschutt was Ahmed Muhumed who clocked in the third-fastest time in FSU history at 7:54.66.

In the women’s 3000m, it was Lauren Ryan cruising to victory with a facility
record time of 9:07.19. Alyson Churchill followed closely behind with a time of 9:09.73 which also broke the facility record. Maudie Skyring (9:21.08) and Amanda Beach (9:27.28) finished fifth and sixth, while Rebecca Clark (9:39.01) and Elizabeth Funderburk (9:40.04) finished ninth and tenth.


For updates and exclusive content, follow the Noles on Twitter (FSU_Track), Instagram (fsu_track) and Facebook (Florida State Track and Field).

Related Articles