November 19, 2021
Noles Take Down Men’s 200 Medley Relay School Record

Atlanta, Ga.  –  The No. 19/RV Florida State swimming and diving teams had another record-breaking swim on the second day of the Georgia Tech Invite at the McAuley Aquatic Center.

The men’s 200 medley relay led off the session by setting the school record and turning in the fastest time in the country this season at 1:23.57 with the team of Mason Herbet, Izaak Bastian, Max McCusker and Peter Varjasi.

The squad took down the mark that was set in 2019 by Emir Muratovic, Izaak Bastian, Kanoa Kaleoaloha and Will Pisani at 1:23.63. The performance was also an NCAA automatic time standard.

“Another great day of racing,” FSU head coach Neal Studd said. “We’re excited the men have the fastest relay in the country right now, and we just had some great performances from both teams in every event.”

Nick Mason led the way for the Noles in the 400 IM, finishing eighth with an NCAA ‘B’ time of 3:51.40.

FSU showed its depth in the 100 fly, as four swimmer competed in the championship heat.  McCusker led the way, turning in his best time of 45.92 for bronze. His performance is still the fifth-fastest in FSU history.

Adrian Aguilar followed in fifth place behind a personal best of 47.05, Rush Clark was sixth (47.16), also turning in a career best, and Domen Demsar placed ninth (48.20).

In the 200 free, Aziz Ghaffari finished in seventh with at time of 1:35.72, however he led off the 800 free relay with a faster split of 1:35.59, which is an NCAA ‘B’ time.

Bastian took silver in the 100 breast with a mark of 52.27 and Herbet followed with bronze in the 100 back at 46.49. Both swims were NCAA provisional marks.

The Noles closed out the night by placing second in the 800 free relay behind Ghaffari, Varjasi, David Quirie and Yordan Yanchev with a time of 6:23.06.

Jesco Helling made the final of men’s 1-meter and won bronze with a score of 309.70.

The women led off the meet by finishing second in the 200 medley relay behind Tania Quaglieri, Nina Kucheran, Aryanna Fernandes and Rebecca Moynihan with a time of 1:37.43.

FSU had four swimmers score in the 400 IM, led by Sydney VanOvermeiren in 16th place with a time of 4:22.26.

Rookie Edith Jerdstedt tied for bronze in the 100 fly, touching with an NCAA ‘B’ time of 53.17, which is the eighth-fastest swim in school history. Fernandes followed in ninth place (53.97).

Phoebe Griffiths turned in the highest finish for the Noles in the 200 free, touching in 13th with a time of 1:47.85.

Kucheran was the runner up in the 100 breast, clocking a time of 1:00.11 ahead of her teammate Maddy Huggins in ninth at 1:01.11. Huggins turned in her personal best in prelims at 1:00.65, which ranks as the eighth-fastest time in school history.

The Seminoles finished fifth, sixth and seventh in the 100 back, led by Pia Murray (53.93), followed by Maddie McDonald (54.29) and Tania Quaglieri (54.37).

FSU ended the night with the bronze in the 800 free relay behind Jernstedt, Kucheran, Ashley Zettle and Griffiths at 7:14.35.

On the boards, FSU added points from Samantha Vear on 3-meter, who placed eighth with a tally of 276.50.

Saturday’s races entail the 1650 free, 200 back, 100 free, 200 breast, 200 fly and 400 free relay. The divers will be competing on platform.

The women are in fourth place with a total of 527 behind No.9 Georgia (891), No. 8 Florida (755) and No. 15 Auburn (683). The men are in third with a total of 622.5, trailing No. 5 Florida (988) and No. 20 Auburn (772.5).

For more information, visit Facebook (FSUSwimmingDiving), Twitter (@FSU_Swimming) and Instagram (@fsuswimdive).



Related Articles