November 30, 2021 - by

Howell and Madril Named MAC Hermann Award Semifinalists; Soccer Wins Atlantic Region Staff of the Year

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Jaelin Howell and Emily Madril have been named MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists as announced by the United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club on Tuesday afternoon.

Howell, the reigning MAC Hermann Trophy winner, has played in all 23 games this season, starting in 21 of them at the holding midfielder position. She has helped anchor a backline that has recorded 12 shutouts in 23 games and has only allowed 13 goals all season. Howell also made her presence known on the offensive end as she has scored two goals to go with four assists. Howell was named the ACC’s Midfielder of the Year for the second straight season and to the All-ACC First Team.

Madril has started in all 23 games this season for the Seminoles as their starting center-back. She has played in all but 19 minutes for the Garnet and Gold this season. Madril has helped lead the Seminoles’ defense to 12 shutouts in 23 games. The Noles have only allowed 13 goals all season, allowing only 44 shots on goal. She has also helped the Seminoles on offense, scoring three of FSU’s 65 goals this season. Madril was named to the All-ACC First Team and was named the ACC’s Defensive Player of the Year.

United Soccer Coaches also announced on Tuesday the 2021 Regional Staff of the Year winners for NCAA Divisions I, II, and III men’s and women’s soccer. The Florida State Soccer staff, led by head coach Mark Krikorian was named the Atlantic Region Staff of the year.

Krikorian and the rest of the coaching staff have led Florida State to their 12th College Cup with a 20-1-2 record. Florida State won its eighth ACC Championship in the fall with a 1-0 win over No. 1 Virginia

Florida State has been dominant this season, outscoring its opponents 65-13. They were also unbeaten through 15 games for the second time in program history. The Seminoles scored 30 goals against ACC opponents in the regular season, which was two more than any season.

Florida State earned its 17th straight national seed this season and was named a number one seed for the 10th time in school history.

Each of the 60 (30 men’s and 30 women’s) staffs receiving Regional Staff of the Year honors will be recognized at the College Coaches Awards Ceremony at the United Soccer Coaches Convention on Thursday, Jan. 20, 2022.

In addition, the Regional Staff of the Year recipients has been placed on the ballot for United Soccer Coaches National Staff of the Year consideration within their respective NCAA division.

Howell, Madril and the rest of the Seminoles take on Rutgers this Friday, December 3rd at 7 pm ET in the College Cup Semifinals. The game will be broadcast on ESPNU.

2021 Women’s MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Croix Bethune Jr. M Southern California Alpharetta, Ga.
Messiah Bright Sr. F Texas Christian Dallas, Texas
Mikayla Colohan Sr. M Brigham Young Kaysville, Utah
Michelle Cooper Fr. F Duke Clarkston, Mich.
Naomi Girma Sr. D Stanford San Jose, Calif.
Parker Goins Sr. M Arkansas Broken Arrow, Okla.
Jaelin Howell Sr. M Florida State Lone Tree, Colo.
Emily Madril Sr. D Florida State Navarre, Fla.
Alia Martin Sr. D Michigan Carmel, Ind.
Diana Ordoñez Jr. F Virginia Prosper, Texas
Ashley Orkus Sr. K Mississippi Vestavia Hills, Ala.
Gabby Provenzano Sr. D Rutgers Sergeantsville, N.J.
Frankie Tagliaferri Sr. M Rutgers Colts Neck, N.J.
Miri Taylor Sr. F Hofstra Gillingham, England
Kelsey Turnbow Sr. F Santa Clara Scottsdale, Ariz.

Follow Florida State soccer on Twitter (@FSUSoccer), Instagram (@nolesoccer) and like our Facebook page ( to keep up to date with everything about Seminole soccer.

Related Articles