February 10, 2021
Howell Named 2021 Sportswomen of Colorado Award Winner for Soccer

Denver, CO – Jaelin Howell was named the 2021 Sportswomen of the Colorado award winner for soccer as announced by the Sports Women of Colorado on Wednesday.

Sportswomen of Colorado will honor Colorado’s top female athletes and contributors to girls and women athletics at its 47th Annual Awards Celebration. This Celebration will be held virtually. We are combining the 46th and 47th Awards Celebration as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. The date of the event will be announced within the next two weeks.

This year we will recognize the 2021 Award Winners as well as the 2020 Award winners for a total of 71 athletes and contributors. As always there will be the surprise presentation of the Sportswoman of the Year for 2020 and 2021. The 2020 winners are recognized for their 2019 successes and the 2021 winners are recognized for their 2020 successes.

2021 Sportswomen of Colorado Award Winners (based on 2020 achievements)

Jana Van Gytenbeek – Basketball – High School (Cherry Creek High School)
Daneli Pinto – Basketball – College (Colorado School of Mines)
Riley Stewart – Cross Country – High School (Cherry Creek High School)
Aubri Braecklin – Golf – High School (Jefferson Academy)
Maddie Karr – Gymnastics – College (University of Denver)
Jaelin Howell – Soccer – College (Florida State University)
Sadie Ross – Softball – High School – Small School (Eaton High School)
Nikki McGaffin – Softball – High School – Big School (Fossil Ridge High School)
Mikaela Tommy – Skiing – College (University of Colorado)
Lindsey Immel – Swimming (Rampart High School)
Tarynn Sieg – Track and Field – Track (Colorado State University)
Maria Mettler – Track and Field – Field (Air Force Academy)

Special Awards

Mary Kvamme – Joan Birkland Leadership Award (Lakewood)
Julia Fuller – Coach of the Year – High School (Buena Vista High School)
Kindyll Wetta – Comeback of the Year – High School (Valor Christian High School)
Erin Norton – Comeback of the Year – College (Metropolitan State University of Denver)
Jennifer Kupcho – Professional Athlete of the Year – (Westminster)
Christina Maccarrone – Swede Johnson Spirit Award (Grandview High School)
Becky Hammon – Trailblazer

Related Articles