May 14, 2021 - by

Wallin Named Finalist for ANNIKA Award

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State’s Beatrice Wallin, the 2021 ACC Golfer of the Year, has been named as one of 10 finalists for the ANNIKA Award which is presented to the Division I Women’s Golfer of the Year.  Wallin will lead the Seminoles into the NCAA National Championship Finals (May 21-26) after helping them to the championship of the NCAA Louisville Regional earlier this week.  The regional championship win for the Seminoles is the first in school history.

Wallin is the second Seminole to be named as a finalist for the ANNIKA, which was created in 2014 and quickly became the most prestigious award in college golf. The award is named for the legendary Annika Sorenstam, whose stellar career transcended the game and elevated the sport of women’s golf.  Seminole All-American Frida Kinhult was named as a finalist for the Annika Award in 2018.

“I’m very happy and honored to be one of the finalists for the ANNIKA Award,” said Wallin. “All of the finalists are great players and have accomplished so many things. I’m happy to be considered for such a prestigious award.”

Wallin became just the second player in school history to earn ACC Golfer of the Year honors in 2021.  She was also named to the All-ACC team for the second time in her career this season.

Wallin enters the NCAA Championship Finals averaging a career-low 70.48 strokes in 21 rounds during seven tournaments this spring.  She has earned two individual championships at the Florida State Match Up and the Pinetree Collegiate and finished in the top 10 of six of her seven collegiate events this spring.

Wallin is currently the No. 5 ranked player in the Golfweek national rankings.  She has been ranked as the No. 1 golfer in the nation this season and has been ranked in top 10 throughout the spring season.

Wallin finished in a tie for 10th place at the Second Annual Augusta Women’s National Amateur in April.  Her finish in the 2021 AWNA marked her second consecutive top-10 finish in the event.  Wallin is the only player to finish in the top-10 of the first two AWNA championships.

Voting for the 2021 ANNIKA Award will run May 14th through May 24 at  All current Division I women’s golfers, women’s coaches, women’s golf SID’s, and select Golf Media are eligible to vote.  The recipient will be announced on Golf Channel Tuesday, May 25th and will receive an exemption into the 2022 Amundi Evian Championship.

ANNIKA Award Finalists
Beatrice Wallin, Florida State (ACC Golfer of the Year)
Allisen Corpuz, USC
Karen Fredgaard, Houston (AAC Golfer of the Year)
Linn Grant, Arizona State
Rachel Heck, Stanford
Ingrid Lindblad, LSU
Ana Pelaez, South Carolina
Paulina Roussin-Bouchard, South Carolina (SEC Golfer of the Year)
Emma Spitz, UCLA
Maja Stark, Oklahoma State

Related Articles