October 24, 2022 - by

Cole Anderson on Haskins Award Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Redshirt junior Cole Anderson of Florida State Men’s Golf has been named to the final fall Haskins Award Watch List, announced on Monday morning by the Haskins Foundation.

Anderson joins a group of 20 of the best collegiate golfers on the list. The Haskins Award is celebrating its 53rd year and has been given to players who have captured 33 major championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world.

Cole Anderson on Haskins Award Watch List

Anderson, a Camden, Maine, native, is playing the best golf of his Seminole career. In his four tournaments this fall, he led FSU with a 69.08 scoring average as well as a -1.92 average vs. par. His 10 rounds at par or better led the Seminoles, and three of his four finishes came in the Top 10.

He is coming off a strong match-play performance in the Jackson Stephens Cup championship where he defeated North Carolina’s Peter Fountain, 1UP.

Anderson is looking to become the second Seminole to win the Haskins Award by the end of the spring golf season. In 2021, John Pak won the honor and swept the three main national honors in the Haskins, Hogan and Nicklaus Awards.

Eight of Anderson’s 12 rounds played in the fall season were under par, including a career-low 6-under 64 in the second round of the Maui Jim Intercollegiate on Sept. 10. He finished runner up at the Maui Jim Intercollegiate, his best finish as a Seminole.

Anderson and the Seminoles, which are rated 13th in the latest Golfweek rankings, will begin their spring season on Sunday, Feb. 19, at the Watersound Invitational at Shark’s Tooth Golf Course in Watersound, Fla.

Final Fall Haskins Award Watch List
(listed alphabetically):

Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech
Cole Anderson, Florida State
Jonas Baumgartner, Oklahoma State
Canon Claycomb, Alabama
Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois
Caden Fioroni, UNLV
David Ford, North Carolina
Austin Greaser, North Carolina
Benjamin James, Virginia
Ryggs Johnston, Arizona State
Tommy Kuhl, Illinois
Christiaan Maas, Texas
Maxwell Moldovan, Ohio State
Matthew Riedel, Vanderbilt
Daniel Rodrigues, Texas A&M
Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
Calum Scott, Texas Tech
Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt
Caleb Surratt, Tennessee
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford

Related Articles