November 29, 2021 - by

Five Seminoles Earn All-ACC Volleyball Honors

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State Volleyball capped its regular season with five All-ACC award winners on Monday afternoon, announced by the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Junior middle blocker Emma Clothier earned All-ACC First Team honors for the second consecutive season. Redshirt junior outside hitter Morgan Chacon was selected to the All-ACC Second Team for the second straight year as well.

Three Seminole freshmen in libero Emery Dupes, outside hitter Audrey Koenig and middle blocker Khori Louis were named to the nine-member ACC All-Freshman Team.

“I’m really proud of this team and everything they accomplished this season,” FSU Head Coach Chris Poole said. “There were so many talented super seniors that returned around the country and our young team stepped up and competed very well. We had the youngest roster of all Power Five teams and yet found a way to finish in the Top 20 nationally for the NCAA RPI, which is the rating used by the NCAA Selection Committee.”

Five Seminoles Earn All-ACC Volleyball Honors

Clothier and Chacon repeating their feats as All-ACC award winners is impressive considering that the league returned 25 of its 28 recipients last season, with many incentivized to use the extra COVID-19 year. With six teams in the Top 29 of the regular-season ending RPI, including top-ranked and undefeated Louisville, the two veterans competed against a league that is as stacked as ever.

“Emma and Morgan were the two returning All-ACC players for us and we knew from the beginning they would have to carry a very heavy load,” Poole added. “Emma was often double teamed through the season and drew a lot of attention and still continued to perform at a high level. Morgan has been our best full rotation player the last few years and is expected to do so many things on the court. Both of these young ladies have done an amazing job of leading this young team.”

Clothier becomes the eighth Seminole to be a multiple All-ACC First Team selection, and the fifth to do it since the conference expanded to its current group of teams beginning in the 2014-15 season. She leads FSU this season in total kills (270), hitting percentage (.327), service aces (32) and points (352). The Carrollton, Texas, native has 11 matches this season where she attacked at a .400 hitting clip or higher.

Chacon has once again been the indispensable player the Seminoles rely on, utilizing herself as a primary passer and effective attacker. She leads FSU with 2.67 kills per set this year and owns eight double-doubles. Chacon also has 13 matches this year with 10 or more kills, including a season-best 15 kills vs. NC State on Oct. 1. The Crown Point, Ind., native repeats as an All-ACC Second Team member, yet another amazing accomplishment after she had to rehabilitate a broken leg when she first arrived at FSU.

Dupes came to FSU as one of the nation’s most highly-sought liberos in high school and has lived up to her billing. The Marietta, Ga., native leads FSU with 3.8 digs per set, a mark that is the second-best among freshmen in the ACC and the highest ever by an FSU true freshman. Dupes has six matches this year with 20 or more digs, and joins her classmates Koenig and Louis in becoming the 14th, 15th and 16th ACC All-Freshman members at FSU.

Koenig found ways to step up in big moments in the regular season, including putting down a career-high 18 kills in a 3-2 win over a tough Syracuse team on Oct. 31. The Wesley Chapel, Fla., native has 247 kills and 2.47 kills per set this year, owning 10 matches with double-digit kills. With the absence of a few key players toward the end of the season, she had a three-match stretch vs. UNF (11 kills, .346 %), Syracuse (12 kills, .310%) and Miami (17 kills, .298%) that was critical for FSU.

Louis ignited FSU’s middle attack with a .323 hitting percentage while also leading the Seminoles with 0.99 blocks per set. The Tallahassee native raised her blocks per set average to 1.06 in ACC play. Like Clothier, Louis was also efficient offensively with 11 matches this season at a .400 attacking percentage or better. She delivered identical 15-kill performances in wins over Georgia and Clemson this season.

“I’m excited for the young players that were recognized on the ACC All-Freshman Team,” Poole said. “We had to play three to five freshmen every match and while we lacked in experience, our team continued to battle every match. They learned so much this season and we are really excited to have an off season in the spring to continue their development.”

Florida State continues its 12th NCAA post-season in the last 13 years when it heads to 10th-seeded Nebraska’s site for the first and second rounds. FSU begins by facing Kansas State on Friday, Dec. 3, at 5:30 p.m. ET at the Devaney Center in Lincoln, Neb.

2021 ACC Volleyball Awards
Player of the Year: Julia Bergmann, Georgia Tech, Jr., OH
Defensive Player of the Year: Mackenzie Cole, Duke, Sr., L
Setter of the Year: Tori Dilfer, Louisville, Sr., S
Freshman of the Year: Mabrey Shaffmaster, North Carolina, Fr., OH
Coach of the Year: Dani Busboom Kelly, Louisville

First Team All-ACC
Emma Clothier***, Florida State, Jr., MB
Julia Bergmann^***, Georgia Tech, Jr., OH
Mariana Brambilla^****, Georgia Tech, Sr., OH
Matti McKissock***, Georgia Tech, Sr., S
Anna DeBeer***, Louisville, So., OH
Tori Dilfer^**, Louisville, Gr., S
Anna Stevenson^***, Louisville, Gr., MB
Savannah Vach***, Miami, So., S
Melissa Evans*****, NC State, Gr., OPP
Serena Gray, Pitt, Sr., MB
Kayla Lund*****, Pitt, Gr., OH
Leketor Member-Meneh, Pitt, Sr., OH
Chinaza Ndee****, Pitt, Sr., RS
Marina Markova, Syracuse, Jr., OH

Second Team All-ACC
Mackenzie Cole**, Duke, Sr., L
Morgan Chacon**, Florida State, Jr., OH
Breland Morrissette, Georgia Tech, Sr., MB
Claire Chaussee, Louisville, Sr., OH
Aiko Jones**, Louisville, Jr., OPP
Amaya Tillman***, Louisville, Jr., MB
Elena Scott, Louisville, Fr., L
Angela Grieve, Miami, So., OH
Priscilla Hernandez, Miami, Sr., L
Janice Leao, Miami, Jr., MB
Kaya Merkler**, North Carolina, So., MH
Nia Parker-Robinson, North Carolina, Gr., OH
Mabrey Shaffmaster, North Carolina, Fr., OH
Charley Niego****, Notre Dame, Sr., OH
Polina Shemanova***, Syracuse, Sr., OH
*15 players on the second team due to a tie in the voting

All-Freshman Team
Emery Dupes, Florida State, L
Audrey Koenig, Florida State, OH
Khori Louis, Florida State, MB
Bianca Bertolino, Georgia Tech, OH
Elena Scott, Louisville, L
Peyman Yardimci, Miami, OH
Mabrey Shaffmaster, North Carolina, OH
Jada Allen, NC State, MB
Brooklyn Borum, Virginia, OH

^ denotes unanimous first-team selection
* denotes number of career All-ACC honors

Related Articles